Whoremotions

… The Act of Being Whoremotional

Ben Harper is a Genius! March 19, 2009

Not to mention HOTT. Wow! Look at those tattoo’s. Ok, where was I?! Oh, ok… So, I am a BIG lover of Ben Harper’s music. I absolutely love all his songs and they have so much meaning. I think the more you go through in life, there is a Ben Harper song to go with your feelings. I believe he captures heartbreak perfectly. He also has some AMAZING positive songs! I love reading lyrics because it can give the song a whole new meaning. I picked some of my favorite Ben Harper songs and took some of the lyrics that I feel have strong points and meaning. I’m not going to paste the videos because I think that the lyrics mean more and when you read them and they create meaning to you. I also am not putting what each one means to me because I believe that they will mean something different to everyone. Hopefully, these can help you to understand something you are going through, have been through, get through your everyday or just enjoy reading. It’s good to live by some of these words. Sometimes it takes someone to say something in order for us to say….”Oh. I get it now!” Enjoy!

Diamonds on the Inside
When you have everything,
You have everything to lose.
She made herself
A bed of nails
And shes plannin’ on puttin’ it to use.
Make sure the fortune, that you seek
Is the fortune you need
So tell me why,the first to ask,is the last to give,everytime
What you say and do not mean
Follow too close behind

Alone
This empty room it fills my mind
Freedom it leaves me confined
Today and tomorrow have become,
Become one
Every single thing has become none
Human nature is a beast
What I’ve done the most to show I have the least

Another Lonely Day
I can resist anything but the temptation from you.
But I’d rather walk alone than chase you around.
I’d rather fall myself than let you drag me on down.
Yesterday seems like a life ago,
’cause the one I love today, I hardly know,
You I held so close in my heart, Oh dear,
Grow further from me with every fallen tear.

Ashes
Love has no direction
cause love has no aim
love can leave you
as fast as she came
Meeting is such sweet sorrow
cause someday we may have to part
hush don’t you make a sound
you’re gonna let me down
Good things come
to those who wait
but good things are gone
from those who are late
All that I am
is all I can give
but with or without you
my life I must live

Fight Outta You
I would rather take a punch than not give you a shot
I’d rather find out who you are than who you’re not
Should have known better than to mistake business for love
Should have known better than to mistake a fist for a glove
The lies you live become you, the love you lose it numbs you, don’t let them take the fight
outta you
There’s always someone younger, someone with more hunger, don’t let them take the fight outta
you

Having Wings

Life is a blurry-eyed, heavy-hearted whirlwind of a storm
Some things just hurt too much to cry
Memories are like shadows the light won’t make disappear
I still see you smiling with your eyes
For all these things, true happiness is having wings

Please Bleed
Make me feel like a beggar
Make me feel like a thief
Make me feel like a battle, that cannot end in peace
Make me feel like running, as if I’ve lost my nerve
Make me feel like crying, tears I don’t deserve
Please bleed
So I know that you are real
So I know that you can feel
The damage that you’ve done
Who have I become
To myself I am numb
Is this really living sometimes it’s hard to tell
Or is this a kind of gentler hell
Turn out the lights
And let me stare into your soul
I was born and bled for you to hold
Never said thank you
Never said please
Never gave reason to believe
So as it stands
I remain on my knees
Good lovers make great enemies

Please Me Like You Want To
Don’t do me any favors
matter of fact why don’t you
do yourself a few
your presence ain’t nobody’s blessing
I’ve got plenty of other things
I could do
and now it’s plain for me to see
you’re with somebody
that you don’t want to be
so won’t you
please please me like you want to
not like you have to
or won’t you just go on and leave me
leaving me is the least that you could do
believe me there is a difference
when you mean it
and when you pretend
or was I just your habit
cause I know a habit
is a hard thing to break

Widow of a Living Man
Mama why does he treat me so cold
why do I feel so old
how long has he treated me unkind
or have I always been so blind
I’m the widow of a living man
Why can’t the times stay the same
now I am begging him to change
what about all the plans we made
now I am so afraid
I’m the widow of a living man

With My Own Two Hands
I can change the world
With my own two hands
Make a better place
With my own two hands
Make a kinder place
With my own two hands
I can make peace on earth
With my own two hands
And I can clean up the earth
with my own two hands
And I can reach out to you
with my own two hands
I’m gonna make it a brighter place
(with my own)
I’m gonna make it a safer place
(with my own)
I’m gonna help the human race
(with my own)
(with my own two hands)
Now I can hold you
With my own two hands
And I can comfort you
With my own two hands
But you got to use
Use your own two hands

 

2 Responses to “Ben Harper is a Genius!”

  1. OHHHHH girl you know this is my theme song …

    Fight Outta You
    I would rather take a punch than not give you a shot
    I’d rather find out who you are than who you’re not
    Should have known better than to mistake business for love
    Should have known better than to mistake a fist for a glove
    The lies you live become you, the love you lose it numbs you, don’t let them take the fight
    outta you
    There’s always someone younger, someone with more hunger, don’t let them take the fight outta
    you

  2. matt Says:

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).


Leave a Reply

